Also look up...

Monday, May 3, 2010


The basic forms of government go as such: Monarchy, ruled by one; Oligarchy, ruled by a few; Democracy, ruled by a majority; Republic, ruled by law; Anarchy, ruled by no one. The United States as written by its forefathers is a "constitutional republic". The word "democracy" does not appear in the US Constitution, nor does it appear in the Declaration of Independence. A republic, by definition is “a state where the head of state and other officials are elected as representatives of the people, and must govern according to existing constitutional law that limits the government’s power over citizens." So where does all of this democracy stuff come from? John Adams defined a democracy as the "tyranny of the majority." In a republic the government is limited to its proper role of protecting the rights of the people. When government power grows, people's freedom recedes. This has been proven in early Rome, where under the 12 Tables of the Roman Law (a republic), they were the envy of the world. Romans went from a republic, to a democracy- where many were forced to trade freedom for security- to an oligarchy. Democracy itself is not a stable form of government, instead it the gradual transition from limited government to the unlimited rule of an oligarchy.

Furthermore, Former president Clinton stated, "There is a government inside the government and I don't control it." The United States can no longer consider itself a democracy, nonetheless a republic, when 2.3 trillion dollars have been spent on projects about which the people, congress, and the president have been kept deliberately in the dark. It's time that the people of the United States, that have been footing the bill, fight against deceit and demand truth and transparency.

No comments:

Post a Comment